Ten Cats

Ten cats collectively is clearly a caterwaul
I briefly considered, it could be a cacophony

But after ten cats constantly cavorting,
Climbing, clambering, claw filled carnival

Ten cats collectively is clearly a caterwaul
I briefly mulled that it could be a maelstrom

But after ten cats mousing, meowing,
Masquerading moggies, marauding through meadows

Ten cats collectively is clearly a caterwaul
I briefly thought it could be a turbulence

But after ten cats tearaway, trouncing, tagging,
Terrorising toms, troubling their territories

After considerable contemplation,
indelible, irrefutable,
Ten cats collectively is clearly a caterwaul.

5 thoughts on “Ten Cats

  1. Syl (@Gypsy_Syl) says:

    Oh my god I love it! ❤ you are the best!
    I used to attend creative writing classes back as a lit student and my prof made us read (and write!) Carol's Jabberwocky and many similar poems that are all about sound and silly words – sooo much fun! You've written great stuff before but this is clearly my favorite! 🙂

    • melbrankin says:

      Thanks!

      There are a heap of very talented New Zealand childrens authors who are awesome wordsmiths so I take my inspiration from them. The Jabberwocky is my fav poem of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

