The Elder Scrolls Online: Weird Build Fun – Stormguard

So after creating a sorcerer, in a robe with a staff, I recalled that my first character in beta was a Nightblade using a healing staff that I tried to make into a Druid.

In line with making probably non endgame viable, fun experimental characters, I’ve decided to kick off some ramblings into non traditional builds.

As I started with a sorcerer I thought I would continue and make a few alternative builds and see how they play.

 

First up is the Stormguard.

This combines sorcerer class with heavy plate wielding tank.

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.43.13

Weapon wise I went with a hammer for the knock down of a heavy blow and shield. The one handed melee and shield line being the tanking skill line for the game.

At level 7 my current attribute points are as follows, with a general 2/1 in health v Stamina and a little into magic. If I feel that I am suffering for combat stamina or magic to get a good rotation in a fight i’ll throw some more points their way.

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.43.54

Key skills for this build from the sorcerer line are the Storm Calling skills.

The Magus Fury is good for pulling mobs without having to swap to a bow or anything crazy.

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.44.16

 

The main focus so far has been on Thundering Presence which is the first morphed ability in the Thundering skill line. Not only does this grant a nice boost to amour and Spell Resistances it is a great way to keep groups of mobs focused on you and do a nice touch of damage.

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.44.25

The majority of points have then been put into One Hand and Shield. Here I plan to get all the skills unlocked including passives. This should give all the tanking bonuses. (Note that I did not tool tip these abilities but they all include a Taunt effect.)

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.44.37

And finally points into Heavy Armour and eventually the Fighters Guild skill line when I unlock it.

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.44.47

 

So far the build has felt rock solid. I can take down a number of foes with only range magic giving me a real issue atm. The shield counters and defensive abilities turn the sorcerer into a solid tank. I am yet to get into dungeon levels that will be the real test of the build.

But it looks cool in combat so far!

 

Tag your it!

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.48.26

 

Shields up, lightning is a go!

Screenshot 2014-12-30 21.47.59

 

So Stormguard built its time to move on to working out the Arcane Archer – the most broken class in Skyrim.

Leave a Reply

