An elf and her horse

So I bravely or foolishly decided to draw the lovely @SilkyRaven world of Warcraft character on a horse. I like the challenge of doing new things and I have not attempted to do a horse before (a goat is as close as I got). Horses it turns out are great learning tools (which means endless frustrations) because they don’t conform to how my eyes try and see them.

I think this is always the case with some objects that are so familiar but that you have never broken down into finer details of lines, forms, bones and muscles. With humans its a little easier as I can people watch most days and look at how lips, eyes, bones interconnect but I don’t have a horse in the back yard to hang out with sadly.

Anyway its been a lot of fun, plenty of stop starts and plenty more effort to get it close.

Below is the current evolution of the drawing

Squiggles
IMAG0651

Moving into better focused Squiggles
IMAG0652

Horse starting to take basic shape
IMAG0653

So far its progressing okish – learning heaps which is great.

Will continue to slowly fill out the details, refine and correct and post as I go.

Then I might turn it into a line art 😀

Last WiP
IMAG0655

And the final picture below!

Once again a big thanks to @Silkyraven for allowing me to practice art on her warcraft character!
SilkyRaven

8 thoughts on “An elf and her horse

    • melbrankin says:

      Cheers, yeah I have drawn cats and dogs a bit but horses are just another level of complex – it is a world of warcraft horse too so its not exactly accurate to a real one – not sure if that makes it easier tho hehe

  1. Chestnut Stonebough (@ggchestnut) says:

    A little late to the party, but I think this looks so amazing! Your horse is exquisite. I’ve heard of some of my artist friends going to the zoo or aquarium, or farm for animal references, and to “animal watch” when they have extra time. 🙂

    • melbrankin says:

      Thanks! – cartoon horses are a little strange because you are actually requiring the first artist to get the proportions correct – WoW horses it turns out are okish but always grumpy!

Leave a Reply

