Pottering and Painting

I learnt an interesting lesson over the weekend – you can only cut corners so often with water colors before it comes home to bite you. This bite was the ripping of the painting I was getting setup to draw.

After much cursing I set about preparing my watercolor paper correctly – although I had to do a half size as my backing wood was not very big at all.

Still the initial results showed me that the current paper I have is rubbish but I can get away with it for small pictures if I am patient with its preparation. Lesson learnt!

And the outcome was okish 😀

poppies

 

 

While I was waiting for the paper to dry I did a quick charcoal sketch

hut in the mountains

And I also did a few scribbles of things at work – taking about a minute to draw.

IMAG0009-1

IMAG0014

Writing wise I’m still on my post Nanowrimo break, will be back to editing soon.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Pottering and Painting

  1. Aywren says:

    Wow… I know I don’t comment as much as I should, but I just wanted to say that I’ve watched your art get better and better over this year. You really have a grasp on traditional media and I hope you’ll keep working with it! That watercolor is wonderful (I know how tough watercolor can be, too)!

    • melbrankin says:

      Aww thanks very much! I’m dedicated to mastering water colors so expect a lot of slowly improving (I hope) paintings over the next years 😀

      They are tricky but there is something magical about the interplay between water, pigment and paper that I cannot find in any other form of painting 😀

Leave a Reply

