Yellow Tulips and Unexpected Ice

Painting continued onward with an attempt at a field of yellow tulips. Its kind of a classic painting subject so it was interesting to try my hand at it.

I had mixed success as seems to be the way with learning water colors, the technical aspects of them is easy to muddle even from a good start. I did like parts of the painting and its always the matter of learning as I go with a lot of try, fail, retry going on.

Anyway below is the final copy, I resisted trying to fix anything as the paper I am using up is too low quality to cope with endless tinkering – might be a good habit to get into anyway 😀

yellow tulips

For my next painting  and I are challenging each other to do a painting from World of Warcraft each month – This months painting is of windmills so I chose one from the Forsaken newbie zone – Tirisfal Glades.

Basic sketch idea

 

windmill sketch

First paint WiP

windmill

Second – adding in a few details

windmill-WiP2

Refining details and adding more

windmill WiP3

More to come, should finish this before December ends 😀

 

Game wise I have been playing a little bit of fallout 4 thanks to the very kind Simcha who gifted me a copy.

Although early days the game is shaping up to be a really great return to fallout, refined enough from fallout3 without loosing the feel of the games.

I’ve mad a high charisma and intelligent character so will be interesting to see how investing in settlements and companions work out.

 

Writing I have nibbled away at my book, getting into the editing once more has been a real pleasure from the crazy time pressure of Nanowrimo.

 

And finally – the summer weather to a rather crazy turn today giving us some unseasonable hail.

hail

 

 

3 thoughts on “Yellow Tulips and Unexpected Ice

Leave a Reply

