Charcoal Pottering and Practicing

As I have been struggling to find time to setup for painting I decided to do some quicker charcoal sketching and practicing. There is still so much to learn with how charcoal works its always worth returning to.

Practice face/mouth

practice1.jpeg

practice_face1.jpeg

 

And I started this – trying to “paint” with the pencil, mostly using the side of the tip and often unfocused just looking beyond the paper to find the shapes, shadow and story the charcoal wants to tell me.  I look forward to seeing what this ends up like, if my instinct to take over will leap in and wrestle control back.

charcoal landscape.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

