Writing Weekend & First December Painting

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_winner

After a crazy weekend of writing I crossed the finish line with a day to spare. Nothing feels as good for a story than having some good time thrown at it and book two is now very close to finishing its first write!

I had expected to be pushing right to the end hours given my progress leading up to the weekend but finally after 26 odd days of working through with very little inspiration a golden patch of creativity was sparked and away the story raced.

Now that NaNoWriMo 2016 is done I have turned my attention back to art and writing. For December I decided to challenge myself by doing only people, both real and fantasy, paintings using acrylics as the main medium. ย I really haven’t done a lot of people and its often ended in tears and thrown away paper – drawing them I am fine with, charcoal etc no problem but its the skin tones and shadings to try and make the skin translucent while using colors that has alluded me. So it should be a fun and frustrating time but I hope to be able to come out of December with a much better grasp of painting.

I have been hitting the YouTube fairly hard, watching a lot of painting videos and found a few that resonate with the way i paint – so fingers x!

So my first painting was a dwarf from World of Warcraft. (It didn’t turn out too badly, lots to improve on but that is the life of art ๐Ÿ˜€ )

2016-12-03 00.35.45.jpgI did notice i need a better fine brush, and a bigger flat so I will be spending some of my birthday money from last month on more art supplies.

 

4 thoughts on “Writing Weekend & First December Painting

    • melbrankin says:

      yeah I think he has just noticed its a tad sunburnt ๐Ÿ˜€ Over the years I’ve played both but rarely at the same time – I think alliance are my fav in races and least fav in lore

  1. Aywren Sojourner says:

    Congrats again on NaNo! That’s a neat badge this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think your dwarf is super awesome — it is NOT easy to try to recreate realistic skintones in any medium, and you’ve really captured a solid, ruddy look. I’d love to see more! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

